Random Inspirations

Welcome to my blog, full of fun inspirations and insights on writing, self-publishing, and more!

5 Easy Ways to Regain Your Momentum This Year

on January 5, 2015

I always enjoy some time off around the holidays, and although I’ve written a bit here and there over the past two weeks, today is my first official day back to writing full-time!

No matter what you do, returning to work after a long break can seem daunting to say the least. Luckily, I’ve got you covered! Instead of dreading your return to work, try these 5 easy ways to regain your momentum after the New Year. I applied them last year after the holidays, and they worked incredibly well. I’m psyched to implement them again.

New Year's was fun, but now it's time to get serious. Check out these 5 tips to find out how!

New Year’s was fun, but now it’s time to get serious. Check out these 5 tips to find out how!

  1. Start the week by doing something you love! I kicked off the week with an impromptu yoga class yesterday morning. Yoga is one of my favorite workouts because it exercises not only our bodies but our minds and souls as well. I always feel more focused and motivated after I practice yoga. This session, however, the true revelation came at the end of class. After everyone left the exercise room, I still had so many endorphins circulating through my system that I didn’t want to leave. So, I took advantage of the fact that there were no back-to-back classes that day; with the room to myself, I began dancing and doing splits, cartwheels, and front handsprings. I felt wild, free, and completely in touch with my innermost essence. Gymnastics and dancing were two things I loved as a child and a teen, and practicing them again felt divine. As I walked home in the sunshine, I was pumped for everything  in life, including returning to work.
  2. Create a mantra. I always create a weekly mantra, but I believe that it’s especially important to do so before returning to work after a long break. My mantra came to me at the end of yoga practice, and it is Discipline, Drive, and Determination. Over the holidays, I relaxed and cut loose, but now it’s time to return to the core of what makes us all successful: the 3 D’s. I repeated my mantra to myself before I sat down at the computer today, and I was raring to go!
  3. Read voraciously. This is my only tip that applies exclusively to writers, especially those of you who are working on fiction projects. Reading is the perfect way to regain your momentum; reading a book in your genre will inspire you and impart a feeling of accomplishment. After all, you’re not just reading for pleasure–you’re conducting market research! And if you’re working on a manuscript that requires research, dusting off those non-fiction books and reading up on your topic will give you ideas and help you to feel more in touch with your story. For example, I’m working on a mermaid novel set in 1920s San Francisco, so I dug up some new resources on the 1920s in general and prohibition in San Fran in particular to put me in the mindset of the story.
  4. Write a list of goals. I think most of us do this in some way or another, and call them New Year’s resolutions. However, even if New Year’s resolutions aren’t your thing, don’t fret. Write goals for your workweek–and your year–instead. This is an excellent habit to get into, and it will help you to start, and finish, your week strong.
  5. Take care of your body. Many of us gorge during the holiday season. After all, we won’t see some of these foods again for a whole year! But remember, sugar is a toxin, and the starchy, salt-laden foods of the holidays kill your energy. Returning to your regular healthy diet is paramount in regaining your momentum at work, because if you feel sluggish and bloated, how are you going to perform to your full potential? Additionally, many of us neglect our exercise regimens during the holidays. Working out again will get your blood flowing and your endorphins pumping, and will fill your entire body with an amazing sense of well-being. The sooner you can return to your healthy habits and take care of your body, the better it will be for your momentum at work!

So, there you have it: 5 easy ways to regain your momentum this year. Have you tried these? Do you have anything to add? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

