Random Inspirations

Welcome to my blog, full of fun inspirations and insights on writing, self-publishing, and more!

My Version of NaNoWriMo

on November 3, 2014

It’s that time of year again: NaNoWriMo. Love it or hate it, we writers must admit that it’s an interesting–and motivating–challenge.

nanowrimo

I have never actually participated in NaNoWriMo. Last year, I was just beginning my career as an indie author, and I was so caught up in writing and promoting my new Amish novellas that the thought didn’t even cross my mind. And in previous years, I was working full-time as a pharmacist and wasn’t ready for the challenge.

This year, however, I’m doing my own, slightly modified version of NaNoWriMo, just so I don’t feel like I’m missing out on the fun yet again. šŸ™‚ I will be working on Book 2 of the California Mermaids series, tentatively titled The Mermaid’s Wedding. The awesome thing is that I have a head-start; I completed the first six chapters of the book before I gave birth to my daughter, Xaviana Rose. The hurdle will be juggling my writing and my newborn–not literally, of course–with my parents visiting and my hubby going back to work. It sounds crazy, but you only live once, so why shy away from a challenge? šŸ˜‰

As NaNoWriMo progresses, I’ll keep you posted with my progress–and I’d love to hear how you’re doing, too! Writers, are you participating in NaNoWriMo, or a modified version thereof? If so, what project are you focusing on? I always welcome your comments and feedback!

3 responses to “My Version of NaNoWriMo

  1. boudicca10 says:

    I just heard about this NaNoWriMo TODAY and it sounds like just the motivation I need to get me moving on this multiyear project I’ve had going on. Yep – I’ve been picking away at a novel for the last 5 years so I’ve decided my hybrid NaNoWriMo will consist of filling in the holes and making the novel whole. I’m four days behind, though…already feeling pressured and discouraged…better get out of this pit… I wish you much success with your creative progress! BTW, your post gave me permission for a modified NaNoWriMo. I was feeling guilty for not wanting to sign up on the site nanowrimo.org and stick to a regime. Instead, I’ll have a go on my own with a 2000 word a day goal. Thanks!

  2. I’m glad that you’re feeling pumped for a modified version of NaNoWriMo… Best of luck with your writing and remember, no matter what happens, there’s always next year! šŸ™‚

  3. […] My Version of NaNoWriMo (kristinaludwig.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

