Random Inspirations

Welcome to my blog, full of fun inspirations and insights on writing, self-publishing, and more!

Free Excerpt of Amish Awakening

on September 12, 2014

I am finishing up the grand conclusion of my Amish Couples trilogy, Amish Awakening (The Finale): Rebekah and Braeden’s Book. I’ve had an awesome time writing the Amish Hearts, Amish in College, and Amish Couples series, and am gearing up for my new project, my first YA mermaid fiction novella–as yet unnamed–due out this fall!

I enjoyed writing my Amish series, but I'm ready for a hiatus. Next stop: Mermaids! (Photo courtesy of fineartamerica.com)

I enjoyed writing my Amish series, but I’m ready for a hiatus. Next stop: Mermaids! (Photo courtesy of fineartamerica.com)

I will keep you posted on the launch date of Amish Awakening here on the blog, as well as on Facebook, Twitter, and Google+. In the meantime, here’s an excerpt from the book. Note: Chapter One can be found at the end of Amish Bakery Challenge: Mercy and Samuel’s Book.

Chapter Two: Braeden

 Rebekah hurries out of the room, retreating into the hallway to speak on her phone. I groan and roll over, wanting to enjoy every last morsel of sleep. Yet, I can’t stop myself from listening to her conversation. Her voice becomes more and more agitated by the second. By the time she’s hung up with whoever she’s been talking to, she sounds so anxious that I can almost feel my own blood pressure skyrocketing.

I sigh and roll out of bed, pushing a handful of hair out of my eyes. I have to be the good boyfriend here, and find out what’s bothering her.

I find Rebekah hunched over the kitchen counter with her head in her hands, her long, coppery hair falling all around her face. As I step on the telltale creaky floorboard, she raises her head, and I can see that her eyes are swollen and puffy.

I slide onto the barstool next to her, and immediately drape my arms around her shoulders. “What’s wrong?”

Rebekah sniffles loudly, and says in a quivery voice, “My internship is off, that’s what’s wrong. I can’t believe that they’d have the nerve to call me, one week before I start—”

“Wait,” I interrupt, kneading the tense muscles of her upper back. “How is that even possible? I’m doing the same internship as you are, and they didn’t call me. At least, I don’t think they did.” I glance at my phone, my stomach doing a quick flip-flop. “Nope, no call. Are you sure this wasn’t some kind of prank? You know how Connor likes to mess with you.”

It’s true. My old roommate Connor is always ridiculing both Rebekah and me for being Type-A personalities. He calls us the Anal Twins, a moniker that Rebekah detests.

But Rebekah just shakes her head. “No way. It was a woman. And she told me that they cut all the sophomores because they over-hired and didn’t have the funds to pay us.”

Unbelievable. “Is that even legal?” I ask. “I mean, we signed papers when we were hired, right?”

Rebekah lets out a flat, joyless laugh. “We signed papers all right, but they don’t protect me. That job is at-will employment. The pay and the hours were in the contract, but the papers said that the intern or the vet could end the position at any time.” She exhales deeply. “The woman told me I could volunteer, but what good would that do? I can’t afford to stay here unless I earn some money.”

I massage my way down her spine, trying to work out all the kinks in her back. “It’s not as bad as you think. We have a whole week off to find you another internship, and even if you can’t find anything, I can cover your rent here. Don’t forget, my parents help out a lot. And the internship will be paying me well.”

I nearly bite my tongue in half after I utter the last sentence. Rebekah’s face falls, and she looks down at the ground. All the knots I’d worked out of her back return with a vengeance.

“Well, I’m glad at least one of us will be well-paid,” Rebekah says, her voice low and tinged with bitterness. “But I can’t take your charity. I pay my own way. You are right about one thing, though. I have a week to find an internship, and I’m going to have to make the most of it.”

She pushes herself up off the barstool, straightens her thin, cotton pajamas, and pads into the kitchen in her bare feet, pulling out two mugs and starting to brew the first cup of coffee in the Keurig. “Is it okay if I borrow your laptop? I need to find a new job, and fast.”

Leave a Reply

