Random Inspirations

Welcome to my blog, full of fun inspirations and insights on writing, self-publishing, and more!

Evolution: 5 Ways to Evolve as an Indie Author

on May 12, 2014

Being a self-published author is hard work. The industry is constantly changing, the author is responsible for his/her own marketing and promotions, and, like an old car, a career as an indie author needs constant maintenance.

I’ve found that one of the most rewarding parts of being an indie author is the fact that our careers are constantly changing, and there’s something new to learn every day. As is the case in many new industries, the field is wide open–to those who have the perseverance and drive to take it!

I’ve realized that the greatest key to success as an indie author is evolution. Just as our careers are constantly evolving, so must we, as writers and people. Here are 4 ways I’ve found to evolve as an indie author.

Evolution is key for a career as a successful indie author! Image courtesy of challenge2.com

Evolution is key for a career as a successful indie author! Image courtesy of challenge2.com

  1. Start a new blog –  Most of us have blogs centered on our expertise as writers, but what else lights up our lives? The more we blog–in different places–the more we build our author platforms, increase our discoverability, and, most importantly, practice our writing skills! Plus, starting a new project makes us more creative. It’s inevitable, with the surge of fresh new ideas. I just started a pregnancy blog, Prego in San Diego. I had an amazing time discovering a new WordPress theme, customizing it, writing my first post, and interacting with all the almost-mommies out there who commented on the blog. If you don’t want to start another blog, guest post on other people’s blogs, and encourage them to do the same on yours.
  2. Expand your services – It’s not enough to write and blog–ask yourself what else you could be doing to help other writers. Maybe it’s starting a YouTube show, or perhaps you’ve always wanted to get into writing coaching. I speak from personal experience on both matters; last month, Antonio and I started a YouTube show called Business, Publishing, and Life, and it’s been a great way to connect with friends and writers. I also joined a collaborative office called Hera Hub, and have connected with several women who are interested in meeting with me to discuss writing and self-publishing–hello, beginnings of writing coaching!
  3. Learn a new skill – There are so many different skills that go into a career as an indie author. Not only must we be awesome writers, we must know social media, business, marketing, editing, and book formatting. Learning any of these skills takes time, but it’s totally worth it. Think of the time and money you could save by doing these tasks yourself. Of course, editing is not something I’d recommend doing by yourself; an editor and/or a group of beta readers is essential. But many of the other skills can be accomplished alone. My latest example of skill building is learning to design an eBook cover. I have artistic background, but zero graphic design experience. To fill in the gaps, I took a cover design course on Udemy. Skillshare also offers a variety of courses. I’m finishing up the course soon, and am planning to design my own cover for my next book, “Amish Scholar: Samuel’s Book.”
  4. Read – One of the best ways to become a better writer is to read more. Read fiction books, non-fiction books about writing or indie publishing, whatever you want. Reading is the perfect way to expand your mind and improve as a writer.
  5. Discover other publishing platforms – I’ve been singularly focused on KDP Select, and love Amazon as a platform for indie authors. However, I realized that it might be time to expand my reach by discovering other platforms. I’ve started researching Google Books and Apple Books, as well as Smashwords. So far, I’m still exclusive to Amazon, but I’m doing my research and, after all, that’s the first step. 🙂

Indie authors, what do you think are the best ways to evolve? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

