Random Inspirations

Welcome to my blog, full of fun inspirations and insights on writing, self-publishing, and more!

How to Know if You Love Your Job…and Other Reflections

on March 27, 2014

I’m pleased to announce that my newest Amish YA eBook, Amish Faith: Rebekah’s Book, is free today only! Download it if you’re looking for a fun new read.

And in other news… I celebrated my birthday earlier this week. I don’t know about you, but birthdays make me excited. I haven’t reached that point of thinking of my b-day as “just another day,” or, heaven forbid, hating it!

I doubt I ever will because, for me, birthdays have always been times of reflection as well as celebration. As my “year” draws to a close, I reflect upon how many things I’ve accomplished, and celebrate them. I also visualize my next year of life, setting goals and imagining new ways to evolve.

This past year was a huge one for me, since I experienced basically every major life change possible–I got married, moved cross-country, and switched careers. I remember back to my birthday last year, when I was working as a pharmacist. I did not want to work on my birthday, In fact, when my scheduler said that she might not be able to find coverage for me, I had every intention of calling in sick. Luckily, she was able to find an extra board pharmacist to work for me that day, so I didn’t have to resort to plan B. 🙂

I share this little anecdote with you because on my birthday this year, I did work–at writing. Much to my chagrin, it was a cloudy day, so the beach and pool were out. 😦 Luckily, I enjoy many indoor activities, and was able to do most of them during the day on my birthday: yoga, piano, shopping, and, of course, writing–my new career, which should be work, but feels like fun!

Snoopy knows what's up. Writing rules!

Snoopy knows what’s up. Writing rules!

The contrast between last year, when working on my birthday was something I eschewed, and this year, when I not only chose to work on my birthday, but enjoyed it, confirmed what I already knew: that my career change was the best possible one for me. Sure, there are “occupational hazards” that go along with a career in writing, but it’s my passion. If you had asked the “me of last year” whether I’d ever work on my birthday, I would’ve answered with a vehement, “No way!” But ask me now and I’ll say, “Sure. I love to work.” And it’s all because we might call it work, but it sure doesn’t feel like it.

Is writing your passion? If so, go for it–you won’t be sorry! And if you have any questions along the way, don’t be afraid to ask me or another author. I think the best thing about the indie author revolution is how collaborative the formerly “closed shop” of publishing has become. There’s never been a better time to be a writer. 🙂 Who knows, by this time next year, you might be working on your birthday…willingly!

 

2 responses to “How to Know if You Love Your Job…and Other Reflections

  1. Always happy to do some work whether it’s my birthday, the weekend or Christmas. It doesn’t feel like work if it makes you happy. Even 20 minutes of daily writing adds up to meaningful stuff in time.

    • So true, Jason. 🙂 Weekends, holidays, it doesn’t matter. Sometimes, the story just begs to be written! I think at least a little bit of writing every day is the way to go.

Leave a Reply

