Random Inspirations

Welcome to my blog, full of fun inspirations and insights on writing, self-publishing, and more!

Life on Fire Event: 3 Takeaways to Help Indie Authors Ignite Their Passion

on January 13, 2014

Last Friday, I had the pleasure of attending the Life on Fire meeting in downtown San Diego. This event included entrepreneurs with diverse business backgrounds ranging from DJ to marketing expert. At the event, I was able to network with individuals from all over; most people were from SoCal, but some attendees came from “faraway” places like the U.K., New York, and Chicago.

I would highly recommend a Life on Fire seminar to anyone looking for more inspiration and empowerment in career and life. The theme of the day was, “You can do anything you put your mind to,” and I definitely left feeling that way!

However, because of the wide spectrum of attendees and their varied backgrounds, the tips were pretty general. Here are some of my takeaways from the conference, tailored to indie authors.

Rumi-Set-your-life-on-fire

3 Takeaways from Life on Fire:

  1. Your income is the average of your 5 closest friends: Who you network with is important. I believe that in self-publishing, an indie author’s income is the average of his / her 5 closest contacts, meaning those writers he / she most interacts with at conferences, on social media platforms, and in everyday life. Self-publishing is a very collaborative field, and there’s so much to learn from our fellow authors. If you’re a beginning indie author, forming a group of successful indie author friends is a great way to learn tips to increase readership and financial gains.
  2. Imperfect action is better than no action at all: The speakers at the event emphasized the concept of “imperfect action,” which is so applicable to authors. I think many of us are perfectionists, and don’t want to put our work out there unless we’re convinced it’s flawless. While this is a noble goal, I’ve heard too many aspiring writers say, “I’ve written a book,” or, “I’m writing a book,” but they never finish and/or publish it because they’re so sucked up in being “perfect.” We’re human — we’ll never be perfect! That being said, I do think it’s important to put your best work out there, and that means professionally edited and re-edited. So “imperfect action” is a balancing act.
  3. Setting goals is the way to go: Okay, I knew that, and I’m sure you did, too. But I learned many awesome goal-setting techniques at the meeting. For example, the speaker outlined a strategy of goal-setting that revolves around making small goals at first, meeting those, and creating a quantum leap over time. Also, posting goals publicly (Ex. on Facebook) is a great way to increase your accountability and chances of success.

The event organizer, Nick Unsworth, is a Facebook marketing expert, and posted a video with Brett Gregory that helped me to dramatically increase the likes on my Facebook author page with targeted members of my readership audience. I got about 500 likes in 48 hours using this technique, so if you’re an indie author looking to grow your readership by connecting with your audience on Facebook, I’d definitely recommend this video!

Leave a Reply

