Random Inspirations

Welcome to my blog, full of fun inspirations and insights on writing, self-publishing, and more!

Switching Gears: How to Get in the Mood for Your Next Writing Project

on November 18, 2013

For the last several months, I’ve been on an Amish fiction kick as I’ve written and published the first two installments of the Amish Hearts series, Rumspringa Break and Amish Summer. There are two more books in this series, due out in January and February 2014, but I decided to break up the project and do final edits on the YA contemporary novel I’ve been working on, And the Winner Is… It will be released in December, just in time for the holidays!

I was definitely ready to get out of the Amish world and into the present day, but at the same time, it was difficult to switch gears. The characters of the Amish Hearts series are still alive and well in my imagination, and I’m constantly thinking of new plot twists for the last two books. However, I’ve been able to keep them in check, writing them down in my inspiration notebook and saving them for later, and now I’m focusing my writing time exclusively on Winner

Sometimes, it's hard for us writers to switch gears between projects...

Sometimes, it’s hard for us writers to switch gears between projects…

How to switch gears, though? I’ve tried a few techniques, and here’s what worked:

  •  Saturate yourself – While working on the Amish Hearts books, I read Amish blogs, watched documentaries, and read Amish fiction for market research. Now, I’m saturating myself in the culture of the very contemporary high school students of Winner… It’s easy for me because I still shop at many of the same stores, listen to the same music, and watch the same shows as a lot of YA readers. In my free time, I’ve also been focusing on the activities I enjoy that are the same as the ones my main character, Aubree, enjoys (i.e. piano, dance).
  • Reset your brain – Meditate to switch your mindset from the world of your last writing project to the world of your new one. I find that yoga is helpful to reset my brain — that’s actually where I’m headed after I’m done with this blog post. Other great brain resetters: closing your eyes and listening to music, getting a massage, or just sitting in a corner and shutting off for five minutes.

What techniques do you use to switch gears between your writing projects? I would love to hear your opinions!

2 responses to “Switching Gears: How to Get in the Mood for Your Next Writing Project

  1. exiledprospero says:

    Don’t forget hypnosis.

  2. Good idea 🙂 Never tried it myself though.

Leave a Reply

