Random Inspirations

Welcome to my blog, full of fun inspirations and insights on writing, self-publishing, and more!

Writing in Costume: Try it Today!

on October 29, 2013

This morning, I finally received my Halloween costume in the mail. The process was long-awaited and fraught with drama. First, it seemed to take forever to arrive. Then, it supposedly did arrive but I never received it. And, finally, I found it, not in a large box like I’d expected but in a tiny pouch buried underneath the mail in my mailbox that I hadn’t gotten around to grabbing yet!

Needless to say, I couldn’t wait to try it on. It fit perfectly (but I won’t reveal what it is until Halloween:) And once I put it on, I didn’t want to take it off. I also felt incredibly inspired — much more inspired than I’d felt in my pink Pitt sweatshirt and matching Hollister sweatpants. So I began writing, and now blogging, and let me say, this is the most excited I’ve ever felt to blog before 9:30 in the morning — especially when I rushed out of the house to the mailbox without even finishing my cup of coffee!

One of the best things about being a writer and working from home is that we can wear whatever we want and no one judges us. We can write in sweats, costumes, or nothing at all! So my challenge for any writer out there who wants to bring a creative new flavor to his / her work is this: take advantage of the Halloween season and write in costume! We all know costumes are liberating, and that how we look often influences how we feel. So why not connect the dots and see how those new feelings of freedom will impact our writing? Try it. You’ve got nothing to lose, except your normal clothes and possibly an uptight attitude! 🙂

DSC05748

2 responses to “Writing in Costume: Try it Today!

  1. Fox says:

    Love this! Michael always teases me that when I go out to the (smoky, smelly dive) bar to write, I get overly dressed up, but I feel like I have to have my ‘writing costume’ on lol. If I don’t feel cute, I can’t focus!

Leave a Reply

