Random Inspirations

Welcome to my blog, full of fun inspirations and insights on writing, self-publishing, and more!

The “Write” of Spring: Three Fun Prompts for Creative Writers

on March 21, 2013

Welcome Spring! It’s time to feel energized, fresh, and above all, creative. With that in mind, I want to introduce my first ever interactive blog. As a tribute to yesterday’s vernal equinox, here are three Spring-themed writing prompts for all you creative writers out there. Let them inspire your journaling sessions, fiction, or blog posts…and let me know how they’ve stimulated or provoked your thoughts!!

Writing Prompts:

1. “Under Aries”– In case you’re not an astro-weirdo (my brother’s term for people like myself who loooove astrology), we are now under Aries, the first sign of the Zodiac…and we’ll be there until April 20th! As someone born under Aries, I have always felt unusually excited, positive, and energetic during this time. Are you a super-inspired version of yourself under your astrological sign? Or is it just pre- and post-birthday excitement?

2. “Spring Weather Fail”– Right now in Chicago, it’s 20 degrees out. Fahrenheit, not Celsius. And with all the cute spring clothes for sale, I think that’s positively criminal. Last spring, however, was magical. My birthday (March 25th) was 70 degrees! How is the spring weather in your neighborhood? What is the most epic “Spring Weather Fail” you can imagine? Write a story about it!

3. “In Like a ____, Out Like a ____”– “In like a lion, out like a lamb.” It’s the oldest, most cliche way to talk about March. As a rule, cliches should be avoided in writing. But how about a new twist on cliches? In my new manuscript, the heroine, who is an award-a-holic, uses cliches in innovative ways. For example, her boyfriend is “not the sharpest trophy in the case,” instead of “not the sharpest tool in the shed.” What’s a new take on the cliche, “In like a lion, out like a lamb?” How about some of your other favorite cliches?

I hope these prompts will give you something to think (and write) about!

Last spring, the weather was magical. This spring...not so much. But I remain hopeful.

Last year was the “Spring Weather Anti-Fail.” This year…not so much.

2 responses to “The “Write” of Spring: Three Fun Prompts for Creative Writers

  1. Caroline L. says:

    Love this post and I love Spring!!! Thank you for your fun prompts, though I don’t quite write, but I find them so interesting and helpful to many writers out there because you don’t just go out of the box you don’t have a box. Your ideas are amazing. As for Spring, unfortunately it is weird in Paris didn’t arrive yet so I’m still waiting… I carry hope, I carry it in my heart ;)!

  2. Thanks Caroline! I’m glad you enjoyed the post. I’m sure you guys will have some nice weather soon…”Paris in the spring” and all that:)

Leave a Reply

