Random Inspirations

Welcome to my blog, full of fun inspirations and insights on writing, self-publishing, and more!

Reflections on Love

on February 14, 2013

Love

Happy Valentine’s Day all! Love is in the air, and I just can’t think of anything else:) So, I’ve decided that today’s blog will be dedicated to love, and all its mysteries and forms. Here are some of my favorite quotes about love.

“Times and chances, and dreams and fancies
All range, and change, and pass from sight
But love is life’s
One steadfast light”

This quote comes from a book of vocal exercises, written in the early 1900s. I sang it in tenth grade voice lessons, and the lyrics always stuck with me. They’re timeless, and so true. Love, in all its forms, is life’s one steadfast light. The world around us changes everyday, but our love illuminates our lives with its constancy.

“Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength, while loving someone deeply gives you courage.” –Lao Tzu

Beautiful.

“Where there is love, there is life.” –Gandhi

My fiance Antonio gave me a golden bookmark engraved with this quote on our very first V-day…and two months later, he said those three magical words, “I love you.” At that point, I experienced Gandhi’s sentiments firsthand; feeling and receiving love brought me to life. Love makes us all more alive.

“Love is composed of a single soul inhabiting two bodies.” –Aristotle

Nothing more need be said.

“A flower cannot blossom without sunshine, and man cannot live without love.” –Max Muller

Without love, we may be alive, but we’re not really living. I take this to mean any kind of love, not just romantic love. Loving family, friends, pets, and hobbies can light up life like sunshine. So, my V-day challenge is this: love with all your heart! 

Leave a Reply

