Random Inspirations

Welcome to my blog, full of fun inspirations and insights on writing, self-publishing, and more!

Bringing the Creative Back into Creative Writing

on February 9, 2012

Let me preface this post by telling you…I loooove creative writing. I’ve been doing it since I was five, and before that, I was making picture stories. But, a couple of weeks ago, a serious case of writer’s block reared its ugly head, and, for once, I was at a total loss for words. NOT a good thing when one of my New Year’s Resolutions is to complete my second teen novel by this time next year!

What to do? My fiance and I fought our Chicago-winter doldrums and escaped to lovely Cancun, Mexico for five days. There, I basked in the warm and welcoming culture. I admired the majestic beauty of the tropical sun, and the ferocity of the sea. I marveled at the seemingly impossible amalgamation of rich history and brilliant present. I returned home glowing, both inside and out, suddenly inspired not only to write better, but to be better in every area of life. By exploring another country and culture, I rekindled my imagination, and I brought the “creative” back into my creative writing.

Two weeks later, the Caribbean tan has started to fade from my skin, but my creative juices are still flowing. My new novel is coming along great, and I’ve even been inspired to try completely new things, like an advanced online children’s writing course, an oil painting class, and personal training at my gym!

So, my advice to anyone with writer’s block is this: Find something that excites you and ignites your passion for life, dive right in, and watch your creativity spark. Then, revisit your writing, and I’ll just bet the results will be staggering.

Leave a Reply

